CBCA Book of the Year Awards announced during Book Week 19-25 August 2023

The eminent annual awards continue to celebrate and honour quality Australian literature for young people and enjoys a superb growth trajectory.

Entries across the six categories covered topics relevant to our complex world and the lived experience of our young readers—including life within a migrant family and juggling relationships with a genuine desire for self-discovery.

There are currently six categories in the CBCA Book of the Year Awards.

  • CBCA Book of the Year: Older Readers
  • CBCA Book of the Year: Younger Readers
  • CBCA Book of the Year: Early Childhood
  • CBCA Picture Book of the Year
  • Eve Pownall Award 
  • CBCA Award for New Illustrator 

Since 1945 the Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) has grown from a small Sydney-based group to a national organisation that exerts a profound influence on children’s books. The advocacy role played by the CBCA promotes the literary experience for children and assures the scope and vitality of children’s books. The CBCA Book of the Year Awards will be announced on 18 August at noon (AEST).

Need some inspiration for Book Week?

From BloomsburyPublishing: Easy Harry Potter Costume Ideas

Book Week costume ideas that don’t require a sewing kit! Last Minute Book Week Costume Ideas

Book Week: it’s not about the costumes

How Australian authors create magic on a page

Previous CBCA Annual Winners: